2015 RIBSA Champions Review

The Republic of Ireland Billiards & Snooker Association held their biggest ever Championship finals weekend in the history of the Association when 14 National Snooker & Billiard Champions were crowned in the Ivy Rooms Snooker Club in Carlow.

Live Streaming was available on one table this year and the action began on Friday 22nd at 2pm with the last 16 of the Men’s Senior Championship and finished at 6pm on Sunday 24th with the last final of the Intermediate and Senior Billiards Championship.

Senior Snooker Championships

Brendan O Donoghue from the New Institute Snooker Club in Nenagh won the title for the second time in his career when he beat Robert Murphy from the QClub Wicklow 7 frames to 2 in a high quality final.

Brendan also won the highest break with a stunning 142 break in his semi-final win over former Champion and pro player Michael Judge, Brendan was the star scorer with other top breaks of 101, 130 and 136 during the Championship.


Masters Snooker Championships

Colm Gilcresest from Celbridge SC Kildare retained his Master Championship with a dramatic 5 frames to 4 victory over John Farrell from Terry Rogers SC in Dublin.

Billiards Championships

Wayne Doyle from QClub Wicklow had a fabulous weekend when he won both Irish Billiards Championship in beating Aidan Murray from Wicklow in both the long format and 150up format Championship. Wayne also reached the Q- finals of the World Billiards European Open earlier in the week and is fast emerging one of the top young Billiard players in the world.

Aonghus McAnally from Dublin won the Intermediate Billiards long format Championship when he beat Robert McCrum from Dublin but it was McCrum who came back to win the Intermediate 150up Championship when he beat Brendan Devlin from Celbridge SC in the final.


Junior Snooker Championships

Best junior performance of the Championships must go to 13year old Ross Bulman from Youghal CYMS when he won three National Junior Titles over the weekend. He beat Aaron Goldrick from Cavan to win the Under 14 Championship 4 frames to 2. He beat Ronan Whyte from Letterkenny to win the Under 16 Championship 4 frames to 2 and he beat his club mate Noel Landers to win the Under 18 Championship 4 frames to 1.

It was a stunning display from a 13year old who before this weekend had never won any National Championship. He also finished number 1 on the U14 National Rankings.

Andrew Doherty from Terenure became the first Dubliner to win a RIBSA Junior National Championship since 2006 when he beat Adam Fitzgerald from Youghal CYMS 4 Frames to 1.

Adam Fitzgerald from Youghal bounced straight back after losing the U-19 final to win the Under 21 Championship and qualify for the IBSF World Under 21 Championship later this year when he beat his club mate Noel Landers 4 frames to 3. The match was tied at 3-3 when Landers called a foul on himself when no one saw it and that let in Fitzgerald to get back into the frame which he won to claim the title.

Jamie Lee Gardiner from the 147club in Antrim won the Irish U-12 Championship when he beat Adam Quinn from Edenderry SC 3 frames to nil. This Championship was sponsored by PJ Nolan’s 147academy.

Intermediate Snooker

Frank Sarsfield from St Johns Limerick won the Intermediate Snooker Championship when he beat John Farrell from Terry Rogers SC Dublin 5 frames to 4 in a superb match which was one of the best of the whole weekend.

Ladies Snooker

Michelle Sherwin from Q’s SC Dublin, Continued her domination of the ladies game in Ireland when she won her 11th Irish Ladies Championship with a 4 frames to nil victory over Irish No.2 Claire Mill.


This year RIBSA again held their AGM on the Saturday afternoon in an attempt to allow everyone of their members to attend to watch the finals after the AGM. During the AGM a new RIBSA Chairman was elected when Jim Leacy beat John Doherty by 26 votes to 12 to retake his Chairman position after he stepped down at last year’s AGM.

Tony Thorpe was elected and was unopposed for the position for Secretary. The position for President was also unopposed and Eamon Kearns was elected. Ger Murray was elected Vice Chairman. A new RIBSA committee was also voted in with John Doherty, Anthony Bonnar, Stephen Ryan, Tom O Driscoll and Brendan O’Donoghue were elected to council.

Thank You

RIBSA would like to thank the Ivy Rooms for hosting the successful finals weekend and everyone who participated in any event during the season. RIBSA looks forward to meeting everyone again next season. 

Up Coming Events

It is not yet the end of the season for RIBSA as Next week our players will travel to the Czech Republic from the 2nd to the 13th of June where the EBSA European Championships will take place. 

Our Junior International players will playing in the Celtic Challenge on the weekend of 20th June in Carlow and our Under 21 players will be playing in the IBSF World U-21 from the 17th  – 26th of July in Romania.

RIBSA will be sending Men, Master, Ladies and Junior Teams to play in the Home Internationals in Leeds from 7th to the 14th of August and Training Camps are also planned throughout the summer season with our National Coach PJ Nolan to prepare all the players and teams for the various events so it is a busy summer for all involved before the new season kicks off at the end of August.


For all Photos/ Results: Click our web site on www.ribsa.ie

Email : info@ribsa.ie if you need anymore information and email pjcoach147@hotmail.com for any photo you want

About Author

Comments are closed.