Friday, August 14

Sutton & McPhee Win National Doubles Title

The 2018 RIBSA National Scotch Doubles Championship was the first official event of the new RIBSA season when it was played on Saturday the 1st of September in the Ivy Rooms Snooker Club in Carlow.

Teams of John Sutton & Brian McPhee played Philip Browne & Brendan Thomas both qualified for the final after superb wins on the day but it was the team of John Sutton & Brian McPhee who won the National Doubles Title on the final black.

RIBSA would like to congratulate all the players on a great event and to TD Shane Mason on running the event on the day and finally to the Ivy Rooms SC on hosting the event.

  • The Final

John Sutton & Brian McPhee 3-2 Philip Browne & Brendan Thomas

  • Semi-Finals

Philip Browne & Brendan Thomas beat Robert Murphy & Chris Cooney 3-2
John Sutton & Brian McPhee beat Rodney Goggins & Adrian Morrissey 3-2

The event was played in groups with four teams qualifying for the Semi Finals

Event Rules

  1. One Senior International per team – IBSF singles event player or EBSA singles event play from the last 10 years. International team events do not apply.
  2. Players do not have to be from the same club.
  3. Proper snooker attire must be worn. RIBSA International waistcoat not permitted.
  4. Each side shall open alternate frames and the order of play shall be determined at start of each frame and must be maintained throughout that frame.
  5. Players may change the order of play at the commencement of each new frame.
  6. If a foul is made and a request to play again is made, the player who made the foul plays the next shot and the order of play is unchanged.
  7. If a foul is called for playing out of turn, the offender’s partner will lose a turn, whether or not the offender is asked to play again.
  8. When a frame ends in a tie and a respotted black is necessary, the pair who played the first stroke has the choice of which player will make that stroke.  The order of play must then continue as in the frame.
  9. Partners may confer during a frame but not whilst one is striker and is at the table.


About Author

Comments are closed.