Friday, July 10

Myers retains Timmy Murphy Memorial Billiards

The 4th Annual Timmy Murphy Memorial billiards tournament took place on Sunday 4th November in the Ivy Rooms Snooker Club in Carlow. 16 players took part to play in the event in memory of the billiards gentlemen from Cork who passed away over 3 years ago and the Cork connection in this special occasion is as strong as ever as his fellow Corkonian and AOH clubmate Lloyd Myers retained the trophy in emphatic fashion playing consistent billiards and winning all his matches comprehensively.

First round eliminations were Tommy Murphy, Timmy Murphy Jnr, Joe Doheny, John McIntyre, Norman Whaley, Anthony O Flaherty, Sean Dunne and Jason Dowling who was beaten by John Kehoe who produced the high break of the day with 108. The semi finals paired Aonghus McAnally against Kilkenny’s Tommy Denieffe who surprised everyone with wins over Northern Ireland’s John McIntyre and Edenderry’s Liam Byrne but fell short against Aonghus who did enough to book his place in the final against Lloyd Myers who overcame Robert McCrum who was playing solid billiards all the way through before Lloyd’s aggressive and attacking style of play was too hot to handle in the end.

The final saw Aonghus get a 61points head start but Lloyd soon overturned the margin soon after and scored heavily at will with Aonghus struggling to match Lloyd’s scoring power even though the scoreline in the end wasn’t one sided and Aonghus truly earned his in the final on merit. In the end Lloyd took the trophy for second year in a row on a scoreline of 503-359. The high break went Ballindaggin’s John Kehoe with his first ever tournament break of 108.

Well done to Brendan Devlin as always as Tournament Director and running the event    with great enthusiasm. Thanks also to Marian Leacy and staff at the Ivy Rooms Snooker Club who hosted the event again tremendously and  to the Murphy family who appeared on behalf of the late Timmy.

The next billiards ranking event of the season will take place on Sunday 2nd December in Celbridge snooker club in Co.Kildare. To enter text Brendan Devlin on 086 6062420.

Last 16:

Aonghus McAnally (54) 496-212 Tommy Murphy

Timmy Murphy Jnr 372-479 Darren Ryan

Joe Doheny 339-385 Liam Byrne

John McIntyre 248-402 Tommy Denieffe

Norman Whaley (50) 304-370 Robert McCrum

Jason Dowling  (50) 372-418 (108) John Kehoe

Anthony O Flaherty 289-537 Lloyd Myers

Sean Dunne 226-443 (76) Larry Drennan

Quater finals:

Aonghus McAnally 547-362 Darren Ryan

Liam Byrne 378-473 Tommy Denieffe

Robert McCrum 466-423 John Kehoe

Lloyd Myers 494-255 Larry Drennan

Semi finals:

Aonghus McAnally 430-382 Tommy Denieffe

Robert McCrum 352-498 Lloyd Myers


Aonghus McAnally 359-503 Lloyd Myers

High Breaks:

John Kehoe 108
Larry Drennan 76
Aonghus McAnally 54
Norman Whaley 50
Jason Dowling 50

  • Report by John Kehoe

About Author

Comments are closed.