Friday, June 5

Morris Wins RIBSA Shoot Out

Former Professional Davy Morris from the Kilkenny Shed won the inaugural Republic of Billiards & Snooker Association Shoot Out when he beat John Torpey from St John’s Limerick on Saturday the 30th of November in the Ivy Rooms Snooker Club in Carlow.

This event 40 players entered and each match featured 10 minute frames with the semi finalists in each of the four events qualifying for the last 16 knock out rounds. All the players wore matching RIBSA polo shirts for the event. The standard was very high all day which included the highest break of a 101 break by Davy Morris.

Great Feedback

The RIBSA Shoot-Out is the new exciting event on this year’s Calendar and after the major success today, and the feedback from our members, it is hoped it will become a regular event on our Calendar in future years to come. 

RIBSA president Jim Leacy was on hand to welcome all the players and he held a one minute silence for International English Referee Steve Starkie and the mother of Tom Gleeson from Nenagh who died over the weekend.

  • The Final

In the final Davy beat John Torpey from St John’s Limerick in a high class final in which the Kilkenny man controlled from start to finish to lift the title and the €750.00 first prize. Dylan Rees refereed the final.

National Coach PJ Nolan who was the TD on the day presented the perpetual shield to Davy after the final and in his speech Davy congratulated RIBSA on holding this new event and thanked the Ivy Rooms on hosting the event.

The Semi Finals

The semi final line up had youth vs experience with Davy Morris beating Noel Landers from Youghal CYMS while John Torpey beat Adam Halnon from St Pats Gorey in the other semi final.

The Last 16 Results

  • James Bateman 0-1 Richie Flynn
  • Adam Halnon 1-0 Ross Bulman
  • Stephen Bateman 1-0 Shane Sexton
  • John Torpey 1-0 Rodney Goggins
  • Davy Morris 1-0 Jon Perring
  • Lewis Casserly 1-0 John O Sullivan
  • Tom O Driscoll 0-1 Daniel O Regan
  • Noel Landers 1-0 Brian McPhee

The Q-Finals 

  • Richie Flynn 0-1 Adam Halnon
  • Stephen Bateman 0-1 John Torpey
  • Davy Morris 1-0 Lewis Casserly
  • Daniel O Regan 0-1 Noel Landers

RIBSA would like to thank all the players for entering the event, RIBSA hope all the players had a good days play and liked their RIBSA polo shirt. If anyone would like to purchase another polo shirt, they are available from contacting Dylan Rees @ €20.00 each.

RIBSA would also like to thank Dylan Rees on organizing the shoot out and the Ivy Rooms SC Carlow for being the perfect venue for the event and they would like to congratulate Davy Morris on his stunning victory in the event.

Tournament Info

The Closing date for entries will be 9am on the morning of the event. All players are requested to be in the Ivy Rooms at 10am. Play starts at 10.10am with the second session at 10.15am.

This will be a great addition to our National RIBSA Calendar with this new exciting time format of 10 minutes per match. There will be eight matches played during each session and there will be no shot-clock but a 3-2-1 count down will begin matches and 3-2-1 will end matches.

  • Entry Fee

In the 2019 RIBSA Shoot-Out, the entry fee will be €30.00 for over 21yrs old and €20.00 for under 21yrs of age players. The fee includes the Shoot-Out polo shirts that will be worn by all the players.

  • Enter Early

Pre-paid early entries can order the size of polo shirt they require so enter early. The entry fee enters players into four events on the day as each semi-finalist will qualify for the knock out last 16 knock out round to find the winner.

  • Winner takes all

The winner will take all and I ask all the players to promote the event as much as possible via social media and try to make this event a big success.

  • Tournament Info
  1. Entry Fee is €30.00 for over 21yrs
  2. Entry Fee is €20.00 for under 21yrs
  3. Each player entered in the 4 events on same day
  4. Each player receives a Polo Shirt on the morning
  5. All players must wear RIBSA Polo Shirts for all matches

All 4 draws done in advance like in QSchool and the Semi Finalists in each event qualifies for last 16 knock outs starting at 4pm. Large Prize with Winner takes all fund is to attach a large number of players.

No shot clock will be used but Roaming Referee will monitor all the matches and any player playing tactics of slow play to run down the clock will be warmed by the Referee and two warnings he will forfeit the match.

TD on the day will be our National Coach PJ Nolan and every 15 min a new session of matches will begin.

  • Example start at 10am on 8 tables
  • 8 matches finish at 10.10am
  • 8 matches start at 10.15am
  • 8 matches finish at 10.25am

16 players play every 30mins which gives you example of time duration of event. All qualifiers give walk over to opponents in other draw sheets. Play until only 16 players qualifiers.

Enter today and do not miss out of the most exciting tournament of the season. Remember to include the size of the polo shirt you require when you are paying your entry fee.

For more information : email

About Author

Comments are closed.