Friday, September 18

2020 RIBSA AGM Held

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of the Republic of Ireland Billiards & Snooker Association was held on Saturday the 12th of September via Zoom.

All members had the opportunity to join the online due to our Association having to hold it on line because of Government COVID-19 restrictions. For the players and officials attending the Re-Open event a large screen was put up so everyone could watch the AGM in the Ivy Rooms.

New RIBSA Team

RIBSA President Jim Leacy chaired the on-line AGM. A minutes silence was held for anyone from our sport who passed away during the year. The four main positions were elected unopposed with Dylan Rees elected as Chairman, James Bateman elected as Vice Chairman, Derek Kiely was elected as Secretary and John Tobin was elected as the Treasurer of the Association.

The AGM was hailed a big success and a new committee was also elected on the day with Ger Murray, Tony Thorpe, David Joyce, Tom O Driscoll, Donal McGuirk, Neil Shanahan and Shane Mason all being elected.

There was a good balance in attendance of the online AGM with players, referees, club owners and parents. The new Chairman explained his desire to grow the game as grassroots levels for all abilities, race or gender.

A pdf presentation was displayed on the screen to highlight the season on and off the table with reports on all areas from within RIBSA and what we achieved during the season. A special congratulations was given to Aaron Hill on winning the European Under 18 and Under 21 Double in Portugal which won him his professional status.

A special mention of congratulations was also given to three people who have worked tireless for our Association down through the years in Tony Thorpe who has stepped down as Secretary and Ger Murray who stepped down as acting Chairman earlier in the year and to Shane Mason who stepped down as Treasurer. All three will remain as a committee member for the new season.

Award Winners

Four yearly RIBSA awards were announced with Neil Shanahan winning Referee of the Year, Colm McDonagh won Coach of the Year, Liam Mellows in Wexford won Club of the year and Tommy Dowling in Tralee won Volunteer of the year. All four are being invited to Carlow on the 26th of September to receive their award and certificate from RIBSA. Photos and report will follow this presentation on the 26th.

Club Draw

A special draw was held for all the Registered clubs with Rathkeale SC winning a set of 1G Match Snooker Balls after the current Irish Champion David Morris pulled out their name out of the hat.

Motions voted in unopposed

Two motions were received and the first was to increase the committee members from 5 to 7 and the other was to re-name the association from RIBSA to Snooker & Billiards Ireland and both motions were passed unopposed.

Re-Brand Launch 26th September

RIBSA also confirmed the launch of the re-brand of the Association will be on the 26th of September in the Ivy Rooms SC during the Re-Open Event 2 knock out stages. A new modern web site will also be launched on the day and the new logo of Snooker & Billiards Ireland will be revealed

More details to follow in the coming days. Anyone who needs more information should email

About Author

Comments are closed.