Saturday, July 11

O’Donoghue Wins Senior Event 2

Brendan O Donoghue won the second ranking event of the season when he beat Greg Casey from Cork 5 frames to 4 in an exciting final in the Northwest Snooker Club in Letterkenny Co. Donegal.

There were 65 entries in the draw for the second tournament of the year in Letterkenny last weekend, unfortunately 13 players failed to turn up and only 4 of these informed the tournament director.  For those who did travel to Letterkenny it was a very enjoyable weekend.  

Click to view full results

The weekend started off with a one frame shootout on Friday night with 17 players taking part.  Shane Gorman was victorious after defeating Dylan Scully in the final.

In the last 64 there were some big name shocks, in the top half Ray Power lost out to Phelim Mc Clafferty (CYMS Letterkenny) 3/2.  Dylan Scully continued his good form from the night before by defeating Nigel Power 3/1.  Johnny Williams also made an early exit to the hands of Mark Tuite 3/0.

In the bottom of the draw local player Conor Harkin defeated Peter Dunne 3/0.  John Torpey bowed out to the hands of Alan Matic.  In the last 32 all the seeds advanced except Vincent Muldoon who was defeated by North West’s Aiden Devenney 3/2.

In the top half of the last 16 Rodney Goggins advanced not having lost a frame so far, Clinton Franey, Jason Devenney and Brendan O Donoghue also advanced to the next round.  In the bottom of the draw  Aiden Devenney took out 14 seed Stephen Reddington, Greg Casey took out No6 seed Keith Sheldrick and  No2 seed John Sutton fell to the hands of Joe Delaney.

In the Q-Finals Rodney beat 16 year old Dylan Scully from Carlow 4 frames to 1. Dylan had an outstanding tournament in reaching his first senior Quarter final with superb wins over Nigel Power, John O Sullivan and Clinton Franey.

Brendan O Donoghue beat Mark Tuite in his Q-final 4 frames to 2 . The current master champion Mark had superb wins in reaching the Q-final with wins over Johnny Williams, Michael Mullen and current national senior champion Jason Devaney en route to the Q-finals.

Greg Casey beat Aidan Devenny 4 frames to 2 in his Q-final after Devanny had beaten a string of top players including Vincent Muldoon, Jason Keogh and Stephen Reddighton.

Joe Delaney beat Robert Redmond 4 frames to 1 in the last Q-final after Redmond had beaten Stephen O Reilly, James Bateman and Dohmnall Foran.

Brendan was delighted with his performance over the weekend with solid wins over Mickey Duffy, Sean McVeigh, Vincent Meaney, Mark Tuite, Rodney Goggins and Greg in the final.

The Highest break in the event was made by Clinton Franey with a superb 116 Break, Brendan O Donoghue had a 107 and Robert Redmond made a 100 break.

Tournament Director

Bernard McGuiness / John Doherty  

The Champion : Brendan O Donoghue

The Runner Up : Greg Casey

The Semi Finals

Joe Delaney 3 – 4 Greg Casey

Brendan O Donoghue 4 – 3 Rodney Goggins

Full report to follow  :

About Author

Comments are closed.